The happy snapper's go-to for all that is wonderful and technical in the world of photography.

Archive for September 18, 2011

Freshly Baked Loaves

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There must surely be some ancient circuitry that sparks up whenever the sight and smell of freshly baked goods (OK OK, any heated complex carbohydrate) assaults my senses. Pavlov’s dogs have nothing on the amount I drool once a platter of fresh-from-the-oven loaves is gently peeled away from their underlying parchments paper. Damn you, loaves!

My mum the baker placed these steaming loaves out on the verandah to cool down, just like the old days!

Of course, in order for me to defend the loaves from nosy birds (and neighbours), I positioned myself next to the tray and in natural light I shot the bounty. If you wish to be clever, use a piece of cardboard as a bounce if you need to. Set to manual or aperture priority mode. Start adjusting the aperture setting until you get as much in focus as you want.

 


A Clutch of Partridges

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today I learned something. Well, possibly two things. And truth be told, one may actually be wrong. Goodness…

Well anyways, today I learned that the wee pretty birds I took fascination with on the southern most tip of Attica, mainland Greece, are called partridges. And the other thing I learned was what one calls a group of partridges: a clutch! (as in handbag). However, I also chanced upon another definition, being a covey of partridges. Oh dear…

Look, either way this could be the making of rather dull dinner conversation, so lets leave it here…and pick up what really matters: your camera.

By experimenting with various settings, though always shooting on Aperture Priority, some dazzling images of birds can be created. The clutch/covey were sunning their pretty beaks in the western sun two hours before sunset. I lay as flat as I could on my belly (on a rocky outcrop, let it be on record) to take these shots. Cheep!


Juicy Yellow Orbs

Wine Varietals: F Stop f/3.5; Exposure Time 1/80sec; ISO-200; Focal Length 18mm; Metering Mode: Spot
Wine Varietals: F Stop f/3.5; Exposure Time 1/80sec; ISO-200; Focal Length 18mm; Metering Mode: Spot

Wine Varietals: F Stop f/3.5; Exposure Time 1/80sec; ISO-200; Focal Length 18mm; Metering Mode: Spot

Ouzo. When I think “Greek” I think Ouzo.

So why have I all of a sudden come across greek grapes that are delicious? Munched on straight from the vine?? 

And there is no getting away from it – at some stage or other, grapes equals wine.

This healthy grapevine represents the Savatiano varietal found on the island of Evia, central mainland of Viota, Thessalia and Attica (where this shot was taken).

And who’d have known that the Greek landscape is ideal for unique microclimate conditions favouring the cultivation of local varieties. Mild climate + loads of sunshine + low rainfalls = a happy soil of moderate fertility and small crops of excellent quality.

I hear you smacking your lips as I type…Is it Wine O’Clock, yet?